Total Free Money Earned

Redeems: $280,150

BTC Rate: $10859.27

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Zab
    Zab is offline
    PokerOwned Admin Zab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7,248

    Rake \ No Rake on the PO client

    Right now I currently do not take out a rake.

    This is one of the reasons I keep the prize pools generally low for freerolls. The other reason is liquidity, we just don't have enough users yet. When I see only 5 people enter a 500 point freeroll, not sure it's worth it quite yet.

    FRC currently takes a rake, so they offer more freerolls with bigger payouts.

    Would you rather we do that here or keep things simple?
    "And Shepherds we shall be. For thee, my Lord, for thee.
    Power hath descended forth from Thy hand. Our feet may swiftly carry out Thy commands.
    So we shall flow a river forth to Thee And teeming with souls shall it ever be.
    In Nomeni Patri Et Fili Spiritus Sancti."
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_AtUXdXA_s

  2. #2
    Master Sergeant
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    111
    I'm not sure rake would be such a good idea tbh....

  3. #3
    PokerOwned Pro
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    269
    I think your poker client will attract more attention without a rake for now.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    103
    I think rake is OK so long as its reasonable. I was playing 500 point buy-in on FRC heads up, after about 15 min we were both losing like 50 points because of rake. IMO that means that the rake is way way too high. If you kept it at a 3 pt max and no rake unless pot is over X amount then that would be ok. But the rake on FRC, imo, is fucking insane.

  5. #5
    PokerOwned Moderator CoddBrunson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    832
    Yeah, the rake on certain tables at FRC is total BS. I went all in a hand, ended up chopping, and we both lost money. The rake ended up taking more than the blinds, thats BS.

  6. #6
    PokerOwned Moderator CoddBrunson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    832
    I think you should have a rake, so you can recoupe some costs, and run bigger freerolls. Just make sure whatever rake you put on is totally reasonable, and very small to start with, and clearly posted somewhere like required at casinos. Only a shady ass place doesnt clearly post their rake.

  7. #7
    Elite PokerOwned Member GIOMi6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    648
    Rake free would be a good promotion to attract newcomers for the next two months, after that you can introduce some rake in PO

  8. #8
    PokerOwned Pro
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    194
    There is a table without rake on FRC. o.o I think rake is ok...but with the few people that go in there, can you really get much off rake? o.o

  9. #9
    Zab
    Zab is offline
    PokerOwned Admin Zab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7,248
    I set it to like 1 point per 40 chips..

    something really low..
    "And Shepherds we shall be. For thee, my Lord, for thee.
    Power hath descended forth from Thy hand. Our feet may swiftly carry out Thy commands.
    So we shall flow a river forth to Thee And teeming with souls shall it ever be.
    In Nomeni Patri Et Fili Spiritus Sancti."
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_AtUXdXA_s

  10. #10
    Seasoned Veteran
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    48
    I would say to begin no rake should be taken, but in the early future when there is enough players playing and competing in the free rolls than the rake can come into play as there would be traffic, if there is not much traffic than the rake is really not necessary

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •