Total Free Money Earned

Redeems: $280,439

BTC Rate: $64104.26

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

What I learned as noob in the Big Deep Stack tourney

Alright, I'm new to poker owned and just getting back into poker since black friday.
    I play on carbon poker and won a freeroll into the Big Dance.
    First time I played that type of tourney and here's a few things I learned.
    #1 Scared money is just dead money. If you are nervous in a hand that is going to affect your ability to make the right decisions.
    #2 It's impossible to win a big pot without putting your chips in the middle. While you shouldn't just go crazy with mediocre hands, you can't always fold to a 3 or 4 bet. There's really only 3 ways to win a huge pot in hold'em against competent players. A) The hold'em nightmare AA vs KK or KK vs QQ. B) Over pair vs flopped set C) Over pair vs monster draw. That's where's the money is at. Yeah can exploit weaker players by ramming your AK into the KQ. You'll find fish you can stack off with them calling with JJ after the flop with your Q on board etc. The real huge pots are those 3.
    #3AK is only dominant over other aces preflop. It is hand that can hit and hit hard but don't go crazy with it.
    #4 The button is your friend. You should be willing to call/raise with almost anything remotely playable. Depending on your opponents, you don't even need anything good. Often times raising the Cbet will take down the pot unless they have a monster. The 3 or 4 players to your left need to be abused.
    #5 Patience. Even if you are getting a little shortstacked in the middle stages, pick your spots to steal but relax and don't go crazy. You still have plenty of time.