Total Free Money Earned

Redeems: $280,439

BTC Rate: $70478.42

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: pocket pairs

Private

pocket pairs

so i'm dealt pocket pairs all the time especialy low one's like 2s through 7s so what do i do when i'm raised do i call and hope to catch something on the flop raise and risk being re raised all in or just go all in and pray?

Knight
    I am new to poker so this may not be the best advice, but if I get a pocket pair of anything 7 or lower I will throw it away without thinking twice after the flop if I hit nothing. I will also throw them away preflop if someone bets big. The way I look at it is as best you have 2 outs... the range of hands your opponent could have if they are betting high pre flop means they either have a higher pocket pair than you or an AK or AQ or something similar to that. Just my opinion and I am new to poker though so I could be wrong by a mile.

Private
    If you catch a pocket pair, and its lower than, say 10s, You should always consider to call if its not to many high raisers before you.
    And yes its a pretty small chance 2 catch trips on the flop 1/9 you catch. But if you do catch you should se yourself as a strong favorit and try to get their money in if its not a very scary flop, like 3 spades and you have 222, you should be a little more careful. Always try to hit'em if its not costs more than 2-3BB i would say.

/Woelle

Elite PokerOwned Member Bastian2607's Avatar
    I try to see the flop as cheap as i can.
    Is there an overcard or no trips i fold that muck

Sergeant
    you want to see the flop as cheap as possible but with high pocket pairs..like JJ or higher u need aggression

Corporal
    a small bet may keep others from betting more than you're willing to call depending on the table and the players and position...

PokerOwned God